…God DOES provide.

When Christmas break came, I was ready to go.   (Yes, I still refer to it as “Christmas Break” as if I’m still in school!)

I needed a break…but why, I wondered?  My “job” compared to many could seem not very demanding in its day to day responsibilities.  These days I mostly aide other teachers at the schools, lead and help lead bible studies, hang out with children and pray.  Prayer has come to be very demanding in my eyes (it is a different kind of demanding), there is never really an end to what needs to be interceded for, agreed with and declared to our Father.  The more wisdom and revelation we receive, the more we understand what and how we need to pray. 

I think I needed a break though because since we’ve come back in the Fall it has been a new, intense season of trust, and of faith.  It has been a new season of faith in one of the hardest areas for me and many: in finances.  With no planned paycheck coming in, it puts a person in a new place in their view of their money.  I know I’ve needed to be in this place.  It is another area to be completely surrendered to my Father.  I have said I want to seek God’s Kingdom FIRST.  So, I have heard Him asking me, will you seek me first even with your money or lack thereof?  Will you trust me?

 While we were driving back from Chicago on New Years Day there were hours of what I refer to as “Whiteouts”.  The wind was strong and was blowing the already existing snow on the ground all around my car causing me not being able to see in the distance, only right in front of my windshield.  I could not help but see this as an illustration of faith.  I could not see, but I chose to keep driving, trusting that it would be clear soon.  I could not lean on my own understanding.  As I trusted, sure enough, in a few minutes, it all became clear and I could see all around me.  Just as I got used to that clarity, the whiteout surrounded my car again, and I had to trust again.  I knew though from past experience that it would soon become clear again.  My path would be made straight as I acknowledged Him.

This is also true for me in my faith for my finaces.  I have not seen clearly, and the way that God would provide seemed pretty foggy to me.  I did not know how He would!  There were many times over break that I confessed to family and friends that I KNEW God would provide.  I think I was declaring that to them as much to myself to raise my belief!  He has truly provided for me so far, so I knew He would continue to.  I may not always have everything I want, but I always have want I need, and many times many other wonderful surprizes.  So, I needed to not lean to my own understanding and continue on despite the “fogginess” to asknowledge Him in all of my ways.

Well, on the night of January 1st I arrived back in Cairo and I looked over the couple of checks and envelopes that had been handed to me within the last couple of days.   When I counted them up I was surprised to find out that I had the full amount and even a little more for what I needed for the month of January!  It was right on time too!  From the last Saturday as I sat praying and preparing for what I would speak to the men’s group at my dad’s church to that very evening as I was handed a check, God had provided.  It was fully His doing!  I praise Him!  I had not even fully started asking for support yet because I had not felt that God said to.  As I had been praying I heard Him saying to wait on Him, and to share what He is doing and that He would provide.  So, this is what I’m doing.  Thank you for those that were obedient to giving as God led them.  You are a part of this, a part of God’s work in Cairo just as much as I am.  This is exciting.!  It is exactly what I needed to feel confirmed that I am truly where God wants me to be and to be encouraged to have faith for my finaces.   Please continue to pray with me as I am stepping out in this way.

Friends, God does provide.   So, trust Him.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Amen!! I love it!

    Reply

  2. God speaks to me in ways I find quite hilarious sometimes. Other times it’s quite pointed.

    Reply

Leave a comment