…living in “Narnian time”.

Edmund (In Prince Caspian) says, “Well, don’t you see? You know that, however long we seemed to have lived in Narnia, when we got back through the wardrobe it seemed to have taken no time at all? And that means that once you’re out of Narnia you have no idea how Narnian time is going. Why shouln’t hundreds of year have gone past in Narnia while only one year has passed for us in England?”


Someone recently described time in missionary life as similar to Narnian time. I would have to agree. This completely describes how life/ministry has been the past few months. It really only feels like a couple days since the beginning of April when I was anticipating a weekend trip to Colfax, Il and the half-marathon that was coming up, but no, it has been two months! I have not been able to predict life, each week has its new surprises, or new visitors that throws the idea of having a “normal routine” out of the window. I have also had surprise times of travel that has taken me out of Cairo more than I expected. I love this and at the same time I still struggle with constant change.

Over and over I have to return to that A. God is in control and not me. B. God never leaves me. C. God has not promised that we will not have any struggles in life but HE IS GOOD AND FAITHFUL. Is He ever! He never changes and He never makes mistakes. D. I need to let go of me and my plans for HIS. “Whoever loses his life for my sake will find it” Matthew 10:37-39 These are the basics. We’ve heard them over and over again. There is a difference though in simply knowing them and allowing them to become the truth that you live. I want what I read in the Word to be the truth that I believe, know and live. My prayer is for a completely renewed mind. I know that I need it…how about you?!

As of September 1st I will have been in Cairo for three years. As I walked into the sixth grade graduation last week everything felt so familiar. The air had that “end of school” feeling but it was something more. Over the last week with another school year ending and another Youthworks staff arriving I have realized it is this “Cairo cycle of life” (kind of like Circle of Life from the Lion King!) that I’ve adjusted to. At least that is what I will call it. I have seen almost three complete years of life here in Cairo. I have gotten used to the rhythm of this community. I have never been in a community this long or been so involved to have experienced this. I really appreciate being a part of this community. There is much that we are calling on God to transform (It can be hard to not be so adjusted to life here that we accept things that are not God’s best and we do NOT want to do that), there is much that is not according to His Word here, there are incredibly difficult parts of living here but it is still a privilege in my mind (Oh, God, allow me to remember this on the difficult days!) to be here and to even now feel accepted as a part of the community.

I am thankful for this season in life.

One response to this post.

  1. Now you got that song stuck in my head… thanks. 😛

    Reply

Leave a comment