…waiting on my Father.

I’ve been on this “Waiting” kick lately. It’s not that I’ve chosen to wait, sometimes I have, but I’ve realized how much in my life, in my day to day life, that I’ve been waiting for. Much of my life actually consists of waiting! My Father has really spoken it into my mind, heart and spirit. I think I used to remind myself more often but it had kind of drifted away from my vocab and mind. These last years there has been much focus on believing and faith, buts as I read Hebrews 11:1 again, “Now Faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen”, is not faith an active kind of waiting? Since I felt God speaking ” Waiting” to me, I picked up a devotional called “Waiting on God” by Andrew Murray. How much it has gotten me excited to wait! Right now instead of looking at waiting as a passive thing, I have seen how much it changes our hearts and the directions of our minds.

So, what am I waiting for?

I’m waiting for Jesus to come back.

I’m waiting to see Him face to face.

I’m waiting for the government to be on Jesus’ shoulders!

I’m waiting for the place He has prepared for me.

I’m waitng to see heaven come to earth.

I’m waiting to see answers.

I’m waiting to see hearts change.

I’m waiting to see salvation for so many.

I’m waiting to see all nations, tribes and tongues bow before our Father!

I’m waiting for the waste places to be built up!

I’m waiting for the captives to be set free!

I’m waiting for the church to know who they are and to live like it!

I’m waiting for complete healing.

I’m waiting for the past to not hurt so much.

I’m waiting for freedom.

I’m waiting for unity between believers.

I’m waiting to see peace in people’s lives.

I’m waiting for what I hope for!

I’m waiting for the unseen.

I’m waiting for eternity.

I’m waiting for what He has promised.

I’m waiting for what I know is to come in my life, and others.

I’m waiting for Cairo to be rebuilt, to be a city of refuge etc (so much!!!)

I’m waiting to see light in dark places!

I’m waiting for holiness, righteousness and purity.

I’m waiting to reign with Him.

I’m waiting to see this generation rise up and lead! (I’m seeing the beginnings of it!)

I’m waiting to see the “greatest story ever told” to unfold….

(I will end here but oh, there are so many more!)

What are you waiting for?? Who are you waiting for??

When we’re waiting, we know that we are waiting for someone or something. We wait for someone to pick us up. We wait for Christmas. We wait because we know they are coming. We don’t just wait to wait with no promise at the end of our waiting. Now, it may feel like that sometimes. I know I do because I forget who or what I’m actually waiting for. It has been a long time. My mind is not on the hope I have of the fulfillment of the waiting, it is more focused on grumbling that I have to wait! BUT, friends, with most of our waiting, as with my list above, we are waiting for the movement of our Father. We are really waiting for Him when it comes down to it. It is good to know what we are waiting for isn’t it? It is good to know that what we are waiting for will come, will happen and that our waiting is not in vain. Because its not. We have the victory, we know who wins.

He promises to come back. He promises to hear us when we call to Him. He promises to answer. He promises that He will never leave us.

As my devotional keeps reminding me, My soul wait thou only upon God! 

 

Be still and know that I am God.

– Psalm 46:10 

 

“Blessed are all they that wait for Him” – Isaiah 30:18

Leave a comment